629 North Main Street Hattiesburg, MS 39401
601-582-3330
info@lrpa.net
About LRPA

Our mission is to enhance the quality of life in Louisiana by uniting those engaged in the park and recreation profession.

To accomplish our mission we will foster and maintain high professional qualification standards, training and ethics. We will stimulate a wider interest in the preservation and the development of the state’s recreational resources. We will serve as an information exchange for programs, activities and problem solutions. We will cooperate with other public/private related agencies. We will protect the park and recreation professional’s interests. We will analyze and initiate legislation pertaining to the profession.

Our vision is to position the Louisiana Recreation and Park Association and its members to be prepared for emerging trends and opportunities.

Our association consists of five districts. Find your district and then locate your district representative below.

 

Our Team Members
  • Katrina Ward-Coots
    Katrina Ward-Coots
    President

    BREC
    6201 Florida Blvd.
    Baton Rouge, LA 70806
    (225) 284-7690
    kcoots@brec.org

  • Richard Bentley-Smith
    Richard Bentley-Smith
    President-Elect

    Coquille Recreation
    (225) 978-0762
    RichardB-S@coquillerecreation.com

  • Randy Albarez
    Randy Albarez
    Treasurer

    MUSCO Sports Lighting
    4896 Albert E. Blvd. Zachery, LA 70791
    grumpytiger@bellsouth.net

  • Amanda Johnson
    Amanda Johnson
    Secretary

    Lake Charles Parks & Recreation 326 Pujo Street, 3rd Floor Lake Charles, LA 70601 (337) 491-1461 amanda.johnson@cityoflc.us

  • Frank Wittenberg
    Frank Wittenberg
    Immediate Past-President

    Lafayette Parks & Recreation
    P.O. Box 52113
    Lafayette, LA
    (337) 291-8375 fwittenberg@lafayettegov.net

  • Lamar Evans
    Lamar Evans
    Executive Director

    629 North Main Street
    Hattiesburg, MS 39401
    (601) 582-3330
    info@lrpa.net

  • Shonnda Smith
    Shonnda Smith
    District I Co-Chair

    Chief Program Officer New Orleans Recreation District (504) 813-4072 srsmith@nola.gov

  • Heather Erschen
    Heather Erschen
    District IV Co-Chair

    Coquille Parks & Recreation 13505 Hwy 1085 Covington, LA 70433 heather@coquillerecreation.com 985-892-9829

  • Jason Walker
    Jason Walker
    District IV Co-Chair

    Rec. Dist. #1, Pelican Park 63350 Pelican Drive Mandeville, La 70448 985-626-7997 jasonwalker@pelicanpark.com

  • Denise Ferguson
    Denise Ferguson
    Chair -District II

    Lafayette Recreation and Parks 303 Wiillow Oak Dr Crowley, LA 70526 337-291-8127 dferguson@lafayettela.gov

  • Michael King
    Michael King
    District III Chair

    BREC 6201 Florida Blvd. Baton Rouge, LA 70806 mking@brec.org 225-272-9200

  • Mary Murphy
    Mary Murphy
    District V Co-Chair

    Caddo Parish Commission 7401 Jewella St. Shreveport, LA 71108 mary.murphy@shreveportla.gov 318-763-7776

  • Cenerica Smith
    Cenerica Smith
    District V Co-Chair

    Caddo Parish Commission 8012 Blanchard Furh Rd. Shreveport, LA 71107 csmith@caddo.org 318-929-2806